children's books, children's picture books, Fiction, historical fiction, middle grade fiction, read 2021

February Challenge: History Buff

Read historical fiction not set during World War II. Many of us are drawn to the fascinating narratives of people who lived, fought, and triumphed during World War II, and the publishing world reflects that widespread interest. For this historical fiction challenge, we're asking you to explore different narratives and time periods. We hope this challenge will help you discover a new era in history! Find recommendations for adults, teens, tweens, and children.

Fiction, historical fiction, romance

From Book to Screen: Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series

On Christmas day, the Bridgerton series by Julia Quinn aired on Netflix as an original adaptation. Starring the members of the Bridgerton family, these English Regency romances feature a mix of humor, wit, and passion. Read the ebooks on OverDrive or listen to the audiobooks on hoopla! Find more books centered on the Regency era here.

children's books, children's picture books, Fiction, middle grade fiction, read 2021, young adult fiction

January Challenge: Discover a New Author

We know there are tons of authors out there whose books you haven't read before. While this challenge can be met with books published in any year, our list of recommendations are for books published in 2020 that you may not have had a chance to read yet. We hope this challenge will help you discover a new author! Find recommendations for adults, teens, middle graders, and children.

read 2021

READ 2021 Challenge

Have you made your reading resolution yet? Ascension Parish Library is here to help with the Read 2021 Challenge. This year-long reading challenge is an opportunity to move beyond the authors, genres, and formats you typically read, get outside of your comfort zone, and have fun with your reading list. We have selected 24 book prompts for the year and will reveal two prompts each month. You can participate by reading a book from one or both of the categories each month. Will you accept the challenge?